Past Diversity Scholarship Recipients

In an effort to encourage participation by underrepresented communities, the American Society of Health Economics (ASHEcon) jointly with the National Institute of Aging (NIA) funded Center on the Demography and Economics of Health and Aging at Stanford University are offering up to twenty scholarships aimed at underrepresented minorities and/or individuals whose background or life circumstances indicate they have overcome substantial obstacles (e.g., disabled individuals, racial, sexual and gender minorities, etc.)  conducting research in health economics.

While at the conference, the fellowship recipients will have the opportunity to formally network with each other and with members of the ASHEcon board and Diversity Committee, recognizing them, their accomplishments and bright futures. They will also have many opportunities to informally network with other students and professionals during the conference. All applications will be reviewed by ASHEcon’s Diversity Committee.


  • Babasoji Oyemakinde, University of Memphis
  • Cameron Deal, Vanderbilt University
  • Dinushka Paranavitana, West Virginia University
  • Elisa de Weerd, Erasmus School of Economics
  • Graham Gardner, Michigan State University
  • Hailemichael Shone, Indiana University Bloomington
  • Ilse van der Voort, Erasmus University Rotterdam
  • Johnny Huynh, UCLA
  • Laura Nettuno, Vanderbilt University
  • Nana Addai, University of North Carolina at Greensboro
  • Nayantara Biswas, Clark University
  • Nicolas Fuertes Segura, University of California Santa Barbara
  • Paula Ximena Zamora Riano, Texas A&M University
  • Qinyou Hu, Rice University
  • Ronja Helénsdotter, University of Gothenburg
  • Samsun Naher, University of New Mexico
  • Shaoying Ma, The Ohio State Center for Tobacco Research
  • Sukriti Beniwal, Georgia State University
  • Taehyun Kim, The Ohio State University


  • Nada Boualam, Emory University
  • Sih-Ting Cai, University of Pittsburgh Graduate School of Public Health
  • Alex Chan, Stanford University
  • Zeid ElKilani, Carnegie Mellon University
  • EK Green, University of Arizona
  • Katlyn Hettinger, Michigan State University
  • Lynn Hua, The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania
  • Margaret Katana, University of Texas Health Sciences Center
  • Samuel Mann, Vanderbilt University
  • Carmen Mitchell, University of Louisville
  • Ahmad Osmani, University of Louisiana Monroe
  • Natalia Serna, University of Wisconsin – Madison
  • Hasan Shahid, Georgia State University
  • Yashaswini Singh, Johns Hopkins University
  • Nathaniel Tran, Vanderbilt University
  • Xue Wu, University at Albany, SUNY


  1. Jiebing Wen, Harvard Medical School& Harvard Pilgrim Health Care Institute
  2. Karishma D’Souza, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hil
  3. Micah Aaron, Harvard University
  4. Amy Eremionkhale, Georgia State University
  5. Rudiel Fabian Sanchez, University of California, Merced
  6. Eunju Lee, University of California, Davis
  7. Jon Wilkerson, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
  8. Aina Katsikas, University of Nevada, Reno
  9. Shaoying Ma, The Ohio State University
  10. Yifan Zhu, University of Delaware
  11. Cristián Figueroa, Boston College
  12. Ha Luong, The University of Barcelona
  13. Naveen Sunder, Bentley University
  14. Sara Syeda, Wayne State University


  1. Aig Unuigbe, University of Washington
  2. Anne Burton, Cornell University
  3. Asal Pilehvari, Virginia Tech
  4. Cecilia Noboa, Universidad de la República, Uruguay
  5. Chenyuan Liu, University of Wisconsin at Madison
  6. Dhruv Khurana, Claremont Graduate University
  7. Ernest Dorilas, Georgia State University
  8. Hedieh Tajali, Texas A&M University
  9. Hyunmin Kim, Yonsei University College of Medicine & Seoul St. Mary’s Hospital
  10. Juan Caro, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  11. Jun Chu, University of Maryland, College Park
  12. Kelly Hyde, University of Pittsburgh
  13. Lu Jinks, University of Illinois at Chicago
  14. Luis Diego Granera Vega, University of Washington
  15. Luis Faundez, University of Illinois at Chicago
  16. Mayra Pineda-Torres, Texas A&M University
  17. Menbere Haile, Claremont Graduate University
  18. Odichinma Akosionu, University of Minnesota
  19. Panka Bencsik, University of Chicago
  20. Thuy Nguyen, Indiana University
  21. Yanyue Wang, Stanford University


  1. Marion Aouad, UC Berkeley
  2. Aziza Arifkhanova, Pardee RAND Graduate School
  3. Abraham Asfaw, Northern Illinois University
  4. Monica Aswani, UAB School of Public Health.
  5. Shubhashrita Basu, Clemson University
  6. Uche Ekhator-Mobayode, University of Pittsburgh at Bradford
  7. Michael Flores, Brown University
  8. Mesfin Genie, Ca’ Foscari University of Venice, Italy
  9. Carolina Herrera, oston University School of Public Health
  10. Andrea Kelly, Texas A&M University
  11. Zachary Levin, University of Minnesota
  12. Meng-Yun Lin, Boston University School of Public Health
  13. Angelica Meinhofer, Brown University
  14. Nicardo McInnis, Georgia State University
  15. Mayra Pineda Torres, exas A&M University
  16. Keisha Solomon, Temple University
  17. Chenlu Song, Boston University
  18. Dongyue Ying, Ohio State University
  19. Lisa Voois, Erasmus School of Economics and the Tinbergen Institute, Rotterdam