ASHEcon Committees

ASHEcon has 5 standing committees: the Awards Committee, the ASSA Review Committee, the Communications Committee, the Diversity Committee, and the Nominating Committee.

Awards Committee

This committee reviews nominations for ASHEcon awards and selects the winners.

Committee Members

  • Martin Gaynor, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Darrell Gaskin, Johns Hopkins University
  • Jonathan Kolstad, University of California – Berkeley
  • Neeraj Sood, University of Southern California
  • Naomi Zwede, City University of New York
ASSA Submissions Review

This committee reviews submissions to create ASHEcon’s session at the annual ASSA meeting.

Committee Members

  • David Bradford, University of Georgia (Chair)
  • Shooshan Danagoulian, Wayne State University
  • Martin Gaynor, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Amanda Kowalski, University of Michigan
  • Sara Markowitz, Emory University
Communications Committee

This committee oversees ASHEcon communications including blast emails, newsletter and website content.

Committee Members

  • Ellen Meara, Harvard University (Chair)
  • Di Fang, University of Arkansas
  • Donna Gilleskie, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Robin McKnight, Wellesley College
Diversity Committee

This committee is responsible for developing and overseeing ASHEcon’s activities to promote diversity. This includes selecting the ASHEcon Diversity Scholars each year, consulting with the other ASHEcon committees on diversity, and bringing other diversity issues and initiatives to the ASHEcon board.

Committee Members

  • Christopher “Kitt” Carpenter, Vanderbilt University (Co-chair)
  • Darrell Gaskin, Johns Hopkin University (Co-chair)
  • Marcus Dillender, University of Illinois at Chicago
  • Jevay Grooms, Howard University
  • Kandice Kapinos, Rand Corporation
  • Victoria Perez, Indiana University
  • Patrick Richard, Uniformed Services University
Nominating Committee

This committee is for responsible recommending candidates to serve on the ASHEcon board and for selecting at-large members to serve on ASHEcon committees.

Committee Members

  • Kate Bundorf, Duke University (Chair)
  • David Cutler, Harvard University
  • Donna Gilleskie, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Sara Markowitz, Emory University
  • Tim McBride, Washington University in St. Louis
  • Neeraj Sood, University of Southern California