2024 ASHEcon Award Winners

The American Society of Health Economists (ASHEcon) is pleased to announce its 2024 ASHEcon Award Recipients. ASHEcon’s awards honor individuals who have made significant contributions to the field of health economics. The awards given at the conference highlight both burgeoning and established leaders in the health economics field. This is a great opportunity to recognize an outstanding peer, colleague, or student. We hope that by recognizing the work of individuals working in health economics, we will not only help elevate the amazing people in the field, but will continue to enable excellent research and put a spotlight on the field of health economics.

Victor R. Fuchs Award for Lifetime Contributions to the Field of Health Economics

Winner: Randall Ellis

ASHEcon Medal

Winner: Marika Cabral

The Willard G. Manning Memorial Award for the Best Research in Health Econometrics

Winners: Irina Degtiar, Timothy Layton, Jacob Wallace, Sherri Rose

Student Paper Award

Winner: Anna Russo

ASHEcon Mentoring Award

Winner: Richard Lindrooth

Program Chair Award

The ASHEcon Program Chair Award recognizes an exceptional abstract in each conference program area. Congratulations to this year’s winners!

Program Area Abstract Title Authors
Health Equity  Muazzam Toshmatova and Marina Lovchikova
Environmental and Health  Soodeh Saberian and Janet Currie
Provider Workforce, Human Capital, Incentives, and Behavior  Guanting Yi
Lessons from Developed Countries Outside the U.S.  Manuel Gomes and Daniel Tompsett, University College London
Alcohol, Tobacco, and Illegal Substances  Kathleen Hui
Insurer and Hospital Behavior  Amanda Kreider
Health, Labor Markets, and the Economy  Abigail Cormier
Effects of Health Insurance and Consumer Decision Making  Liam Rose
Child and Infant Health  Krista Ruffini
Health and Development  Julio Ramos
Maternal, Sexual, and Reproductive Health The Impact of Intensive Nurse Home Visiting on Pregnancy and Postpartum Mental Health for Low-Income First-Time Mothers Abigail Dow and Margaret McConnell
Mental Health  Zoey Chopra and Yeşim Orhun, University of Michigan
Competition in Health Care Markets  Colleen Carey, Cornell University
Long Term Care, Aging, and Demography  Chiara Malavasi and Han Ye
Crime and Health  Panka Bencsik
Food and Nutrition  Ian Davis
Health Systems and Health Care Financing  Claire McGlave, Sayeh Nikpay & Hannah Neprash