ASHEcon is a non-profit organization governed by a Board of Directors and officers. Directors and officers will meet at least annually and have rotating appointments.

Board of Directors


Kate Bundorf
J. Alexander McMahon Distinguished Professor of Health Policy and Management, Duke University

Kosali Simon
Herman B Wells Endowed Professor, Indiana University

David Cutler
Past President
Otto Eckstein Professor of Applied Economics, Harvard University

David Slusky
Executive Director
Professor of Economics, University of Kansas

Robin McKnight
Professor of Economics, Wellesley College

David Dranove
Walter J. McNerney Professor of Health Industry Management and Professor of Strategy, Northwestern University

Thomas Buchmueller
Editor-in-Chief, American Journal of Health Economics
Senior Associate Dean for Faculty & Research, Waldo O. Hildebrand Professor of Risk Management and Insurance, University of Michigan 


W.David Bradford
Busbee Chair in Public Policy in the Department of Public Administration and Policy, University of Georgia.

Darrell Gaskin
William C. and Nancy F. Richardson Professor in Health Policy and Director of the Johns Hopkins Center for Health Disparities Solutions, John Hopkins University 

Jonathan Kolstad 
Associate Professor Economic Analysis and Policy Group, Haas School of Business, University of California, Berkeley

Amanda Kowalski
Gail Wilensky Professor of Economics, Department of Economics, University of Michigan

Sara Markowitz
Professor of Economics and Director of Graduate Studies, Emory University 

Shelley White-Means
Professor, The University of Tennessee Health Science Center  

Ellen Meara 
Professor of Health Economics and Policy, Harvard University 

Nerraj Sood
Vice Dean for Research, USC Price School of Public Policy; Director of Research, USC Schaeffer Center for Health Policy and Economics

Amanda Starc
Associate Professor of Strategy, Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University

Past Presidents

Joe Newhouse, 2005-2006

Jody Sindelar, 2007-2008

Mike Grossman, 2009-2010

Randy Ellis, 2011-2012

Frank Sloan, 2013-2014

Mark Pauly, 2015-2016

Jon Gruber, 2017-2018

Loren Baker, 2018-2019

Janet Currie, 2019-2020

Martin Gaynor, 2020-2021

David Cutler, 2021-2022