Categories: Announcements, Conference

Fifth Annual Midwest Health Economics Conference – Call for Papers

Fifth Annual Midwest Health Economics Conference
Champaign, IL
May 2-3, 2014

The College of Business at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign is pleased to host the Fifth Annual Midwest Health Economics Conference, to be held May 2-3, 2014, at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign.  The conference is sponsored by Center for Business and Public Policy, the John David & Elizabeth Epstein Program in Health Law and Policy, the Department of Economics and the Institute for Government and Public Affairs.

This annual invitational conference promotes active exchange and discussion of the latest health economics research among senior and junior economists.  The conference will consist of a full day of presentations on Friday, May 2, and a half-day of presentations on Saturday, May 3. The conference dinner will be held on Friday evening.  As in the past, meals will be provided, but all other expenses, including transportation and lodging, will be the participants’ responsibility.

We invite scholars engaged in relevant research to submit their work for inclusion in the conference. Approximately 10 papers will be selected for presentation.  Submissions are invited from any location, although slight preference will be given to presenters with a connection to the Midwest.

If you would like to participate, please submit an abstract or a draft of a paper using the link below by February 1, 2014. Decisions will be made by February 15, 2014.  Completed papers must be available by April 15, 2014.

Please follow this link to upload your submission.

Starting in early 2014, information on registering for the conference will be available at: www.cbpp.illinois.edu/MHEC2014.html.

For further information, please contact Nolan Miller at nmiller@illinois.edu.

Local Organizing Committee: Dick Arnould, David Hyman, Darren Lubotsky, Nolan Miller, David Molitor and Julian Reif.

MHEC Steering Committee:  Tom Buchmueller (University of Michigan), David Dranove (Northwestern University), Roger Feldman (University of Minnesota), Robert Kaestner (UIC), Anthony Lo Sasso (UIC), Willard Manning (University of Chicago), Kerry Anne McGeary (Ball State University), Anne Beeson Royalty (Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis), Kosali Simon (Indiana University)