Categories: Announcements

Call for Papers, Seventh Annual Midwest Health Economics Conference, Bloomington, IN, April 29-30, 2016

Indiana University is pleased to host the Seventh Annual Midwest Health Economics Conference (MHEC), to be held April 29-30, 2016, in Bloomington, IN. The conference is sponsored by the Kelly School of Business and the School of Public and Environmental Affairs (SPEA).

This annual invitational conference promotes active exchange and discussion of the latest health economics research among senior and junior economists. The conference will consist of a full day of presentations on Friday, April 29, and a half day of presentations on Saturday, April 30. As in the past years, meals will be provided but all other expenses, including transportation and lodging, are the participants’ responsibility. A block of rooms will be reserved on campus at the Indiana Memorial Union.

We invite scholars engaged in relevant research to submit their work for inclusion in the conference. Approximately 10 papers will be selected for presentation. Submissions are invited from any location, although slight preference will be given to presenters with a connection to the Midwest.

If you would like to participate, please submit an abstract or a draft paper by e-mail and send it to: mhec2016@iu.edu by February 8, 2016. Decisions will be made by February 26, 2016. Completed papers must be available by April 6, 2016.

Starting in early 2016, further details about the conference and information on registering for the conference will be available at: https://spea.indiana.edu/faculty-research/conferences/mhec.html.

For further information, please contact Haizhen Lin at or Kosali Simon at simonkos@indiana.edu.

Local Organizing Committee: Seth Freedman, Bradley Heim, Alex Hollingsworth, Haizhen Lin, Hsien-Chang Lin, Victoria Perez, Jeffrey Prince, Daniel Sacks, Kosali Simon, and Coady Wing.

MHEC Steering Committee: Tom Buchmueller , University of Michigan, Roger Feldman, University of Minnesota, David Frisvold, University of Iowa, Robert Kaestner, Anthony Lo Sasso and Nolan Miller, University of Illinois, Anne Beeson Royalty, Indiana University Purdue University, Indianapolis and Kosali Simon, Indiana University