2023 ASHEcon Award Winners

Victor R. Fuchs Award for Lifetime Contributions to the Field of Health Economics: Mark Satterthwaite

Mark Satterthwaite is the 2023 recipient of the Victor R. Fuchs Award for lifetime contributions to the field of health economics. Satterthwaite is the A.C. Buehler Professor in Hospital and Heath Services Management, Professor of Strategy, and Professor of Managerial Economics at Northwestern's Kellogg School of Management.

ASHEcon Medal: David Chan

David Chan is the recipient of the 2023 ASHEcon Medal. This award is given to an economist age 40 or under who has made the most significant contributions to the field of health economics. David Chan is an Associate Professor of Health Policy at Stanford University.

The ASHEcon Willard G. Manning Memorial Award for the Best Research in Health Econometrics: Amanda Kowalski

“Behaviour Within a Clinical Trial and Implications for Mammography Guidelines”

Amanda Kowalski, PhD is the recipient of the 2023 Willard G. Manning Memorial Award. This award is given for the best published health economics research in econometric methodology or econometric application. Dr. Kowalski, the Gail Wilensky Professor of Applied Economics and Public Policy at the University of Michigan Department of Economics, is a health economist who specializes in bringing together theoretical models and econometric techniques to answer questions that inform current debates in health policy. Professor Kowalski’s recent research advances methods to analyze experiments and clinical trials with the goal of designing policies to target insurance expansions and medical treatments to individuals who will benefit from them the most. Professor Kowalski has been honored with a CAREER Award from the National Science Foundation and the Yale Arthur Greer Memorial Prize for Outstanding Scholarly Publication or Research. Her research has received the HCUP Outstanding Article of the Year Award, the Garfield Economic Impact Award, the National Institute of Health Care Management Research Award, and the Zellner Thesis Award.

Student Paper Award: J. Travis Donahoe

“Supplier Enforcement and the Opioid Crisis”

J. Travis Donahoe is the 2023 recipient of the Student Paper Award, given to the student who wrote the best sole-authored paper. He is a Ph.D. Candidate in Health Policy (Economics) at Harvard University.