2023 Diversity Scholarship Recipients

In an effort to increase diversity in health economics, the American Society of Health Economists (ASHEcon) is offering scholarships aimed at underrepresented minorities and/or individuals whose background or life circumstances indicate they have overcome substantial obstacles (e.g., first generation college student, disabled individuals, racial and ethnic minorities, LGBTQIA+ individuals). The scholarships enable the recipients to attend the annual ASHEcon conference, where they will have the opportunity to network with each other and with members of the ASHEcon Board and Diversity Committee, recognizing them, their accomplishments and bright futures.

Congratulations to the 2023 Recipients!

  • Babasoji Oyemakinde, University of Memphis
  • Cameron Deal, Vanderbilt University
  • Dinushka Paranavitana, West Virginia University
  • Elisa de Weerd, Erasmus School of Economics
  • Graham Gardner, Michigan State University
  • Hailemichael Shone, Indiana University Bloomington
  • Ilse van der Voort, Erasmus University Rotterdam
  • Johnny Huynh, UCLA
  • Laura Nettuno, Vanderbilt University
  • Nana Addai, University of North Carolina at Greensboro
  • Nayantara Biswas, Clark University
  • Nicolas Fuertes Segura, University of California Santa Barbara
  • Paula Ximena Zamora Riano, Texas A&M University
  • Qinyou Hu, Rice University
  • Ronja Helénsdotter, University of Gothenburg
  • Samsun Naher, University of New Mexico
  • Shaoying Ma, The Ohio State Center for Tobacco Research
  • Sukriti Beniwal, Georgia State University
  • Taehyun Kim, The Ohio State University