Categories: Awards

2019 ASHEcon Award Winners

Victor R. Fuchs Award: Charles E. Phelps, PhD

Charles E. Phelps, PhD, is the recipient of the 2019 ASHEcon Victor R. Fuchs Award. The award is given to an economist who has made significant lifetime contributions to the field of health economics.

Dr. Phelps is provost emeritus of the University of Rochester. He began his research career at the RAND Corporation in 1971, and helped found the RAND Health Insurance Study, a large randomized controlled trial assessing the medical use and health outcomes arising from different health insurance coverage; he also served as director of RAND’s Program on Regulatory Policies and Institutions. He joined the University of Rochester in 1984, holding appointments in the departments of Economics and Political Science, and serving as director of the Public Policy Analysis Program and chair of the Department of Community and Preventive Medicine in the schools of Medicine and Dentistry.

ASHEcon Medal: Amanda Kowalski, PhD

Amanda Kowalski, PhD is the recipient of the 2019 ASHEcon Medal. The award is given to an economist age 40 or under who has made the most significant contributions to the field of health economics. Dr. Kowalski, the Gail Wilensky Professor of Applied Economics and Public Policy at the University of Michigan Department of Economics, is a health economist who specializes in bringing together theoretical models and econometric techniques to answer questions that inform current debates in health policy. Professor Kowalski’s recent research advances methods to analyze experiments and clinical trials with the goal of designing policies to target insurance expansions and medical treatments to individuals who will benefit from them the most. Professor Kowalski has been honored with a CAREER Award from the National Science Foundation and the Yale Arthur Greer Memorial Prize for Outstanding Scholarly Publication or Research. Her research has received the HCUP Outstanding Article of the Year Award, the Garfield Economic Impact Award, the National Institute of Health Care Management Research Award, and the Zellner Thesis Award.

Willard Manning Memorial Award: John Mullahy, PhD

Individual results may vary: Inequality-probability bounds for some health-outcome treatment effects

John Mullahy, PhD is the recipient of the 2019 Willard Manning Award. The award memorializes Will Manning’s contributions to the development and application of econometric methods in health economics by recognizing the best published health economics research in econometric methodology or econometric application. Dr. Mullahy is a Professor of Health Economics in the Department of Population Health Sciences, Affiliate Professor at the La Follette School of Public Affairs, Co-Director of the Robert Wood Johnson Health & Society Scholars Program, and Co-Director of the NIMH training program in Health and Mental Health Economics, all at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Professor Mullahy is also Honorary Professor of Economics at NUI Galway and Research Associate at the National Bureau of Economic Research. He currently serves as Co-Editor of Health Economics. Professor Mullahy received his PhD in Economics from the University of Virginia and his BA in Economics magna cum laude from Georgetown University. He did postdoctoral work in health economics at Yale University. Professor Mullahy’s research interests include the evaluation of health interventions, comparative effectiveness analysis, analysis of patterns of healthcare spending and costs, health-related behaviors, and the applications of econometric methods to health economics and health policy analysis.

Student Paper Award: Eunhae Shin

Hospital responses to price shocks under the prospective payment system

Eunhae Shin is the recipient of the 2019 Student Paper Award. The award is given to the best student sole-authored paper. She is a Ph.D. candidate in Economics at the University of Southern California. Her primary research interests are Health Economics, Labor Economics, and Empirical Industrial Organization.